Poet Lana Derkač awarded in Korea

place: Korea
Poet Lana Derkač is the recipient of the Korean National Award for Literature by the World Academy for Art and Culture from South Korea for natural modernism which is a topic the academy is aiming to promote.

Lana Derkač’s poetry is presented to Korean literary audience though the magazine Korean Moonlight jointly with poetry by other nominees.

Lana Derkač was born on June 22, 1969, in Požega, Croatia. She graduated from the University of Zagreb, Faculty of Philosophy.

She writes poetry, prose drama and essay. Her work was published in large number of Croatian and international newspapers, magazines and anthologies. She was awarded Zdravko Pucak Poetry Prize and Duhovno Hrasce Prize.

She participated in various literary events, at home and abroad. She took part in International Poerty Festival in Zagreb (Croatia), International Festival Curtea de Arges Poetry Nights (Romania), Struga Poetry Evenings (Macedonia), Kuala Lumpur World Poetry Reading (Malaysia), Kritya (India), The Book Fair in Guadalajara (Mexico), Lirikonfest (Slovenia), International Poetry Meeting (North Cyprus), Festival international et Marche de Poesie Wallonie – Bruxelles (Belgium), Festival Internacional de Poesia in Granada (Nicaragua)… Her poems are featured in Poetical Babylon (project by UNESCO in Rome) and in Rain of Poems above Dubrovnik (a join project between Chile and Croatia).

Her work is translated into 14 languages.

She edited two poetry anthologies:
-Kairos in Zagreb (Zagreb, 2006) – poetry selection from International poetry festival (together with poet Davor Šalat)
-Third Word (Calicut, 2007) – Post – Socialist Poetry (together with Indian poet Thachom Poyil Rajeevan).
She has published:
-Wayside Crucifixes (Vinkovci, 1995) - poetry
-Lightbearer’s Refuge (Zagreb, 1996) - poetry
-Eve from Mailbox (Zagreb, 1997) - poetry
-The Chest for Shadows (Karlovac, 1999) – poetry
-Resignation (Zagreb, 2000) – plays
-Hearkening to Angels (Zagreb, 2003) – short stories
-The Forest Sends Us a Tree By E-mail (Zagreb, 2004) - poetry
-Silence's Striptease (Zagreb, 2006) - poetry
-Who Did Line Up the Sky-scrapers (Zagreb, 2006) - poetry
-Murmullo sobre el asfalto (Guadalajara, 2008) – together with poet Davor Šalat – poetry
-The Flag of Dust (Zagreb, 2009) – short stories
-Qui a mis en rang les gratte-ciels? et autres poèmes (Brussel, 2010) – poetry
-Chess With Snow (Zagreb, 2011) – poetry
-Breakfast for  Moths (Zagreb, 2012) - novel

(D.H., 13.01.2014)