Zagreb Quartet to tour through Siberia

place: Russia
Zagreb Quartet starts at the end of this week with their Siberian tour and the members of the quartet will visits cities like: Yakutsk, Novosibirsk, Tomsk, Kurgan, Moscow and Yaroslavl. The quartet will perform compositions by Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven and Berislav Šipuš.

On April 25, 1919, the Zagreb Quartet was established by a concert in the great hall of the Croatian State Music Institute.

The first musicians' four was comprised of the violinists Vaclav Huml and Milan Graf, violist Ladislav Miranov and violoncellist Umberto Fabri. In the course of ninety years of performing activities some thirty musicians gave their contribution to the Zagreb Quartet, among them Stjepan Šulek, Josip Klima, Zlatko Balija, Đorđe Trkulja, Marija Cobenzl, Goran Bakrač, Ante Živković, Josip Stojanović, Goran Končar and others. The present ensemble consists of Sergej Evseev, the brothers Hrvoje and Davor Philips and Martin Jordan.

The Zagreb Quartet played more than 4,000 concerts on all continents, recorded more that 60 records for various world publishing and radio houses, i.e. like Sastruphon, RCA, Melodicom, Da Camera Magna, Croatia Records, ALM Records, etc.

In the multitude of domestic and foreign acknowledgements and awards it is the Vladimir Nazor Award for Life Achievement awarded in the year 2009 that is particularly outstanding.

(D.H., 19.09.2013)